Sacramental Preparation

There are seven Sacraments in Catholic Church: Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Penance, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, Matrimony.

In the Diocese of Leeds, the Sacraments of Initiation (Reconciliation, Holy Communion and Confirmation) are celebrated for children during their years of primary education:

  • Reconciliation in Year 3 (Ages seven and eight)
  • Holy Communion in Year 4 (Ages eight and nine)
  • Confirmation in the first part of Year 6 (Ages ten and eleven)

Sacramental preparation is usually organised by the parish with the support of the local Catholic primary school. Please contact your local parish priest for further information.

The Diocese has recently produced new resources for First Reconciliation, First Holy Communion and Confirmation.

First Holy Communion

First Sacrament preparation takes place in the Parish at both St Joseph’s, Goole & Sacred Heart, Howden.

Please contact Catherine Murphy at

First communion leaflet

We use cookies to  analyse our traffic. View more
Cookies settings
Privacy & Cookie policy
Privacy & Cookies policy
Cookie nameActive
Save settings
Cookies settings